Menu

Quick Links

Balshaw Lane Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Slideshow

Welcome to Year 1's class page

Year 1 staff

Class 1A

Teacher: Mrs Ashworth

Teaching assistants: Mr Ripley, Miss Bretherton

Class 1T

Teacher: Mr Telford

Teaching assistants: Mrs Johnson, Miss Bretherton, Miss Blakeman

Staff photos

Left to right: 1A Mr Ripley, Mrs Ashworth, Miss Bretherton.

1T Mr Telford, Mrs Johnson, Miss Bretherton, Miss Blakeman.

Communication

Please check our class Twitter pages for regular updates and photographs about what we have been doing in class! 

 

https://twitter.com/Mr_Telford

https://twitter.com/coupe_miss 

 

Please use your child’s planner as a means of communication between home and school. We are interested in hearing about any achievements that your child has had, whether this be with their reading or out of school hobby! We want to be able to celebrate every success both in and out of school. If you want to discuss something with us face to face, please do not hesitate to arrange a time to see us.

 

We also use Seesaw as a means of communication and, sometimes, for homework.

Please ensure that you have both the child and parent logins.

 

PE day

 

P.E days are Tuesdays. The children come into school in their PE kit when it is their PE day.

 

 

Autumn 2022 curriculum letter

Summer 2022 curriculum letter

Spring 2022 curriculum letter

Autumn 2021 curriculum letter

Learning links

 

 Maths

 

 Mathletics - https://login.mathletics.com/ (log in details in planner)

 

Cross Curricular

 

 Purple Mash - https://www.purplemash.com/sch/balshaw   (same log in as mathletics) 
 

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk/resources/covid19-school-closures

 

Classroom Secrets - https://classroomsecrets.co.uk/

 

Top Marks (inc Hit the Button) - https://www.topmarks.co.uk/ 

 

BBC Bitesize - https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/primary 

 

Handwriting

 

Letter Join - https://www.letterjoin.co.uk/

 

Brain Exercise - Go Noodle - https://www.gonoodle.com/ 

 

Phonics

 

Phonics Play - https://new.phonicsplay.co.uk/

 

Phonics Bloom - https://www.phonicsbloom.com/ 

 

Reading

 

Oxford Owl https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/find-a-book/library-page/

 

Teach your monster to read - https://www.teachyourmonstertoread.com/  

 

Online Safety

 

Keeping children safe online - https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/4_7/

 

 

 

YEAR 1 PHONICS RESOURCES

 

Please find below resources your child will find useful.

If you have any questions about phonics or the phonics check please do not hesitate to ask.

 

RESOURCE 1:

http://www.galacticphonics.com/

 

RESOURCE 2: 

https://www.ruthmiskin.com/en/find-out-more/parents/

 

 

GREEN WORDS (Children blend together) RED WORDS (Children to know on sight)

Green Words - Set 1 - Children to sound these words out

Green words - Set 2 - Children to sound these words out

Green words - Set 3 - Children to sound these words out

Phonics Red Words - Children to gradually know these by sight

USEFUL PHONICS WEBSITES

USEFUL MATHS WEBSITES

Top